Charade

Hey you there
you Sir, tell me what you think
have you finally accepted your role with me?
I’m not as relaxed as you once knew
but I swear that I’m not broken.

You’ve taught me so much
and I’m thanking you now
I wonder if you’ll ever see
the me that everyone else is fond of
the me I pretend to be.

Cause you, dear friend
don’t know her.
You see her as just a fraud.
When the tone of your words
goes flat, I know you see me.
Not her.

So let us go back to the circus
where everything’s gilded and glam.
Return to me
girl I pretend to be
til’ the smoke and mirrors
prove
that We
are Me.

Leave a Reply

